About us

The Historical Institutional Abuse (Northern Ireland) Act 2019 received Royal Assent on 5 November 2019. The Act provides the legal framework for the establishment of the Historical Institutional Abuse Redress Board.

The Honourable Mr Justice Colton was appointed as President elect on 15 November 2019 and the Redress Board was established on 31 March 2020.  On 8 January 2021, the Lord Chief Justice announced that the Honourable Mr Justice Huddleston had been appointed as President and would take up the role with immediate effect.  Subsequently the Lady Chief Justice appointed the Honourable Mr Justice Fowler to the role of President on 7 November 2022.

The Redress Board is responsible for receiving and processing applications for compensation from those who experienced abuse in residential institutions in Northern Ireland between 1922 and 1995. 

Applications will be considered by paper determination by a three person panel consisting of a judicial member and two non-judicial members from a health and social care background. The judicial member will chair the panel.

The Act requires the Executive Office (TEO) to name a Northern Ireland department to carry out the administrative functions of the Board. The Department of Justice (DoJ) is the designated department.

The Redress Board is a ‘body corporate’ and operates independently from the DOJ and TEO.